TT 2010 Review

Record Entry for 2010 OANSW Turkey Trot

Perfect Weather

Perfect weather greeted the 2010 Turkey Trot competitors with 8C and clear sunny skies at the start and 15C at the finish.

The perfect conditions were not matched by a perfect start from the long course runners who immediately after starting ran east along Balmoral Road and off the map !   A mass start creates “follow the leader” behaviour which is fine as long as the leader goes the right way.   Stu McWilliam was the first to realise the error and turned back with the rest of the field close behind.

This year the long course started at Northmead with a double leg along Toongabbie Creek, then joined the Parramatta River through Parramatta City to Rydalmere where the course followed Subiaco Creek to Ermington down through Cowell's Lane Reserve and across Victoria Road, back to the  river and onto Meadowbank.
The Medium and Short courses started at Kissing Point Road with the Medium starters heading west before joining the long course along Subiaco Creek.  The Short course headed south and east through Ermington.

The pedestrian crossing at Victoria Road provided a good indication of the likely results as it was 4.5kms from the finish.  First to arrive was Peter Annets with a good break on the other Medium contestants.  The short course leader was Larry Weiss.  The long course runners took some time to reach the crossing having to complete 14.5 kms.  Glen Horrocks the defending champion led the long course by nearly 10 minutes at the lights.  Ben Rattray and Alex Massey were next to reach the crossing.

Glen Horrocks rockets through

The flat course led to fast times with Glen Horrocks finishing the long course in 91:53.

At the finish line in the womens divisions the long course placings went to Cath Chalmers (BF) with Susan Login/Melissa Selby (GO) and Paula Shingler (BF).  The medium placegetters were Sue Davis, Eleanor Ross (NC) and Carolyn Matthews (NC)  while the short course places went to Lisa Lampe (UR), Cecile Raskall and Ute Frindik.
The mens divisions long course placings went to Glen Horrocks (GO) with Alex Massey (NC) 3 seconds ahead of Ben Rattray (OH-S).  The medium placegetters were Peter Annets (GO), James McQuillan and Balazs Koranyi while the short course places went to Larry Weiss (GO), Stuart Wilson and Dave Lotty (UR).

Warwick Selby completes SIX Turkey Trots

Warwick Selby (GO) is I believe the only person to complete all six Turkey Trots and this year was placed 8th in 111.43.  The mens long course was fast and very competitive with most competitors completing in under 2 hours.
The Turkey Trot is all about route choice decisions which become more important as fatigue sets in.  A small navigation error may result in competitors dropping places quickly.

The full set of results of the 2010 Turkey Trot can be found on the Western and Hills Orienteering Club web site at
The Turkey Trot is Sydney’s premier point-to-point orienteering event.  The Turkey Trot is designed for new and experienced orienteers and uses multiple maps to guide competitors along the route.

The orienteering was not difficult with route choices making a key difference in times.  Each year the route is varied to keep the competitors thinking in the tradition of the “Thinking Sport”.

Thank you

  • to the Western and Hills Orienteering Club members for organising the event and providing officials
  • to Southern Highlands Club for the use of their Parramatta River map and
  • to the runners for a record entry     

The feedback from the 2010 competitors was positive and much appreciated.

A Bigger Better Turkey Trot is in the 2011 Pipeline

Planning is underway for the next OANSW Turkey Trot in July 2011.  Details will be announced 4 months before the event. 

I look forward to seeing you all at the finish of next year's Turkey Trot.

Ian Miller